Prizes & Awards

MACLAS offers a range of prizes & awards for excellence in scholarship and service.  Descriptions, deadlines & contact information for our 2016-2017 prizes & awards are listed below.


Harold Eugene Davis Prize

Awarded each year for best book chapter or article published in the previous two years by a member in good standing for the past two years.  Submissions due Friday, December, 2016.  Send submissions electronically to each of the three committee members: 

  • Melixa Abad-Izquierdo, Assistant Professor of History, Politics & Geography at SUNY Farmington State College, at izquiem@farmingdale.edu
  • Leon Arredondo, Assistant Professor of Anthropology at West Chester University, at LArredondo@wcupa.edu
  • Jennifer Jolly, Associate Professor & Chair, Department of Art History at Ithaca College, at jjolly@ithaca.edu

Arthur P. Whitaker Prize

Awarded each year for the best book published in the previous two years by a MACLAS member in good standing for the past two years. Submissions due Friday, December 16, 2016.  Send one copy of the book to all three committee members listed below; questions may be addressed to the chair by email.


Christina Turner Graduate Student Travel Award

To help graduate students attend this year’s conference.  Apply by Friday, December 16.  Please send the title and abstract, a current C.V., travel budget, and a cover letter to committee chair Bridget Chesterton, chestebm@buffalostate.edu.


John D. Martz III Prize

For best paper submitted to the MACLAS 2016 conference by a graduate student.  Submissions must be a final, polished version of the presented conference paper, and should include the appropriate citation styles for that discipline (MLA, APA, Chicago).   Deadline: Oct. 1, 2016.  Send submissions to committee chair Louise Detwiler, ladetwiler@salisbury.edu.


Juan Espadas Prize

For best paper submitted to the MACLAS 2016 conference by an undergraduate student. Deadline: Oct. 1, 2016.  Send submissions to committee chair James Siekmeier, James.Siekmeier@mail.wvu.edu.


Judy McInnis Distinguished Service Award

For dedicated service to MACLAS. To nominate someone, send a letter to committee chair María Roof, mroof@howard.edu, indicating the nominee and detailing the candidate’s service. Deadline: Feb. 1, 2017.


Władysław Maryan Froelich Research Grant

Up to two $500 prizes annually to faculty, professionals or independent scholars to carry out research or creative projects on any facet of Latin American culture, politics, and society. Submissions due October 1, 2016.  Send queries and submissions to committee chairs Ivani Vassoler, at Ivani.Vassoler@fredonia.edu, and John Stolle-McAllister, at stollem@umbc.edu.